Next week, if the stars align, I’ll be sharing quantum astrology tips in Church Stretton, courtesy of . Come along!@DrMichaelBrooks

Wednesday 14th March, 2.30pm – Venue: Church Stretton Library

Tickets £5 to include light refreshments, from Burway Books and Church Stretton Library.

Acclaimed author, Michael Brooks, will visit Church Stretton library to talk on ‘quantum astrology for beginners’.

Humans have been trying to make sense of the universe since they first looked up at the stars, but how far have we progressed? Should we trust in spirituality, astrology, formal religion or science? Michael, who holds a PhD in quantum physics, has spent the last few years trying to answer this question by looking through the eyes of a man who tried all of the above. Jerome Cardano is a long-forgotten Milanese astrologer, mathematician and scientist who spent his life searching for a way to make sense of human existence. His astonishing journey led him to audiences with dignitaries such as the Pope and the King of England, to a humiliating arrest and imprisonment by the Inquisition, and to the creation of the mathematical ideas that underpin our best modern attempt at an answer: quantum physics. In this talk, Michael will take us on Jerome’s extraordinary journey and beyond, examining the strange answers, ancient and modern, that have resulted from humanity’s search for ultimate truth.

Michael Brooks is the author of bestselling science title 13 Things That Don’t Make Sense. His new book, The Quantum Astrologer’s Handbook, is a biography, a history of science, an accessible explanation of quantum theory, and an engrossing story which reads like the best kind of novel. It is a science book like no other about a scientist like no other.

Books will be available to purchase at the event, or beforehand from Burway Books when buying a ticket, at £15.00 (rrp £16.99)

 

Acclaim for ‘The Quantum Astrologer’s Handbook’

“This beautifully written book is a kind of experimental scientific biography that mashes up science with what seems to be non-science, the better to explore the boundaries of what we still don’t know … a quite superb book.”
The Guardian

A Daily Telegraph book of the year:

“A book of science like no other, about a scientist like no other. This is a landmark in science writing. It resurrects from the vaults of neglect the polymath Jerome Cardano, a Milanese of the sixteenth century. Who is he? A gambler and blasphemer, inventor and chancer, plagued by demons and anxieties, astrologer to kings, emperors and popes. This stubborn and unworldly man was the son of a lawyer and a brothel keeper, but also a gifted physician and the unacknowledged discoverer of the mathematical foundations of quantum physics. That is the argument of this charming and intoxicatingly clever book, which is truly original in its style, and in the manner of the modernists embodies in its very form its theories about the world.”

The Quantum Astrologer’s Handbook is a science book with the panache of a novel, for readers of Carlo Rovelli or Umberto Eco. It is a work of and about genius.

 

Next week, if the stars align, I’ll be sharing quantum astrology tips in Church Stretton, courtesy of @BurwayBooks. Come along!@DrMichaelBrooks